Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner ¢ Statewide Health Insurance Benefits Advisors (SHIBA)

January 2017 Approved Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans

By federal law, the high-deductible plan F has a $2,220 deductible for the year 2017

People who:

e Have a Medigap plan B through N can join any Medigap plan — except Plan A.

e Have Medigap Plan A can join any Medigap Plan A.

e Have more comprehensive health coverage than the Medigap plan they’re buying, can join any comprehensive Medigap plan — except
Plan A.

There’s no yearly open enrollment period for Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans. You may apply to buy or switch plans at any

time. However, outside of special enrollment periods, insurers may require you to pass a written health screening. Not sure whether you

will need to take a health screening? Call our Insurance Consumer Hotline at 1-800-562-6900 and ask for a health compliance analyst.

Pre- Health
Company Xt screen? Standardized Benefit Plans & Costs
AETNA HEALTH AND LIFE (AAA)%*4
1-855-523-3107 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $136 | $167 $202 | $186 $141
ASSURED LIFE ASSOCIATION
1-888-397-7786 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $210 | $227 | $283 | $233 | $284 | $235 $204
ASURIS NORTHWEST HEALTH?
1-844-278-7472 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $148 $208 $209 $113
Notes about Asuris Northwest: These plans are offered in the following counties: Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Ferry,
Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, and Whitman counties.
COLONIAL PENN?2
1-800-800-2254 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $219 | $267 $296 | $273 | $102 | $177 | $238 | $173
With a high deductible No Yes $72

Note: Plans and premium costs listed are filed and approved by the Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner.

Companies may change their rates at various times throughout the year, so always check with the company for the latest
availability and premiums. Plans issued before June 1, 2010 have different rates due to changes in Medicare.

Questions? Call our Insurance Consumer Hotline at 1-800-562-6900
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Health
.Company screen? Standardized Benefit Plans & Costs
FIRST HEALTH & LIFE
1-800-264-4000 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $136 | $167 $200 | $186 $147
GERBER
1-877-778-0839 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $196 $273 | $233
GLOBE LIFE AND ACCIDENT?
1-800-801-6831 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older Yes Yes $96 | $156 | $180 $182
With a high deductible Yes Yes $44
GOVERNMENT PERSONNEL MUTUAL
1-877-778-0839 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $163 $223 $227 | $186 $165

GPM HEALTH & LIFE
1-800-541-5858

Age 65 and older No Yes $151 $222 | $175 $137
GROUP HEALTH OPTIONS INC.

1-800-552-7114 1-800-626-3753 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older Yes Yes $135 $251 $87 $141
HUMANA?

1-800-498-1264 A B C D F G K L M N

Age 65 and older Yes Yes $198 | $216 | $251 $256 $115 | $166 $157
With a high deductible Yes Yes $78

LOYAL AMERICAN?

1-866-459-4272 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older Yes Yes $188 $231 | $171 $139
PREMERA BLUE CROSS?

1-800-752-6663 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older Yes Yes $166 $207 $164
With a high deductible Yes Yes $88
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Pre- Health
Company Xt screen? Standardized Benefit Plans & Costs
REGENCE BLUECROSS BLUESHIELD OF
OREGON?
1-844-734-3623 A B @ D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $153 $220 $221 $116

Notes about Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon plans: These plans are available only to Clark County residents.

REGENCE BLUE SHIELD?
1-844-734-3623 A B C D F G K L M N

Age 65 and older No Yes $148 $208 $209 $113

Notes about Regence Blue Shield plans: These plans are offered in the following counties: Clallam, Cowlitz, Columbia, Grays Harbor,
Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Klickitat, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Thurston, Wahkiakum,
Walla Walla, Whatcom, and Yakima.

SENTINEL

1-888-510-0668 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $217 | $242 | $300 | $259 | $303

STANDARD LIFE?

1-888-290-1085 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $228 | $276 | $323 | $237 | $324 | $239 $182
With a high deductible No Yes $46

STATE FARM INSURANCE

(Call local agent) A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older Yes Yes $151 $228 $230

TRANSAMERICA?

1-866-205-9120 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $123 | $163 | $193 | $178 | $194 | $178 $89 $132 $162 | $152
TRANSAMERICA PREMIER

1-888-272-9272 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $124 $213 | $188 $162
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Pre- Health
Company Xt screen? Standardized Benefit Plans & Costs
UNITED AMERICAN
1-800-331-2512 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older Yes Yes $146 | $206 | $249 | $234 | $252 | $213 $194
With a high deductible Yes Yes $44
Under age 65 Medicare
disability Yes Yes $404
UNITEDHEALTHCARE (AARP) 24
1-800-523-5800 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $115 | $173 | $203 $204 $58 $116 $137
Medicare Select Plan* No Yes $198 $199
UNITED OF OMAHA?
1-866-242-7573 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $152 $218 | $172
USAA?4
1-800-292-8556 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $135 $190 $121
WASHINGTON STATE HEALTH CARE
AUTHORITY (HCA) BLUE CROSS PREMERA
PLANS?
1-800-752-6663 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No No $210
Under age 65 Medicare
disability No No $357

Notes about Washington State HCA plans: To qualify, you must be a current Washington state resident who's covered by both Medicare
Parts A & B. You can apply for coverage within one of the following time limits: 1. Within 60 days of establishing Washington state
residency; or 2. In the 30-day period before you're eligible for Medicare Parts A & B due to age or disability; or 3. Within 6 months of initial
enrollment in Medicare Part B due to age or disability; or 4. Within 60 days of retirement; or 5. Within 6 months after you turn age 65. If your
spouse/domestic partner is a Washington state resident who'’s covered by Medicare Parts A & B, he/she may enroll with you, even if he/she
doesn’t meet the enrollment time limit requirements. Also, if you're replacing a Medicare Advantage plan with a Medigap, you must be a
Washington state resident and meet federal portability standards. For all eligibility questions, contact Blue Cross Premera.
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Pre- Health
Company Xt screen? Standardized Benefit Plans & Costs
Western United Life Assurance?
1-800-866-3400 A B C D F G K L M N
Age 65 and older No Yes $147 $196 $163 $131

Footnotes Explained:

1 = PreX (pre-existing condition) is a health problem you had within the three months before the effective date of your new plan. For this condition, a
company cannot exclude benefits for that condition for more than three months after the coverage effective date. If you replace your policy and your
previous policy was in effect for at least three months, you have no waiting period for any pre-existing conditions.

2 = These companies have discounts for spouse, electronic funds transfer and/or yearly pay. You may call the phone numbers listed to find out exactly
what your discounts may be.

3 = No health screen means the insurance company will not ask you any health questions to decide if they will enroll you in its plan.

4 =You must be a member of an association to buy these plans.

* Medicare Select policies may require you to use specific hospitals, doctors, or other health care providers to get full coverage. Network restrictions
must be disclosed to you.

NOTE: The appearance of a company on this list does not constitute an endorsement of a company or its policies by the
Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner, SHIBA, or its volunteers.
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10 Standardized Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans chart

Effective on or after Jan. 1, 2017

How to read the chart:

e v = policy covers 100% of benefit

e % = policy covers that percentage

e Blank = policy doesn’t cover that benefit

Note: The Medicare Supplement policy covers coinsurance only after you’ve paid the Medicare deductible (unless the policy also covers the deductible).

Basic benefits M

Part A: Hospital coinsurance (plus costs up to an v v v v v v v v v v
additional 365 days after Medicare benefits end)

Part A: Hospice care coinsurance or copay v v v v v v 50% 75% v v
Part B: Coinsurance or copay v v v v v v 50% 75% v v RE*
Medicare preventive care Part B coinsurance v v v v v v v v v v
Parts A & B: Blood (first 3 pints) v v v v v v 50% 75% v v
Skilled nursing facility care coinsurance v v v v 50% 75% v v
Part A deductible: $1,316 v v v v v 50% 75% | 50% v
Part B deductible: $183 v v

Part B excess charges v v

Foreign travel emergency (lifetime limit of $50,000) 80% | 80% | 80% | 80% 80% 80%
Out-of-pocket yearly limit** $5,120 | S$2,560

*Plan F offers a high-deductible plan. You pay for Medicare-covered costs up to the deductible amount ($2,220 in 2017) before your plan pays anything.
**After you meet your out-of-pocket yearly limit and Part B deductible, the plan pays 100% of covered services for the rest of the calendar year.
***plan N pays 100% of the Part B coinsurance except up to $20 copays for some office visits and up to $50 copays for emergency room visits (if the
hospital admits you, the plan waives your emergency room copays).

Need more help?
There is no yearly open enrollment period for Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans. You may apply to buy or switch plans at any time.
However, insurers may require you to pass a health questionnaire. If you have questions about who needs to take the questionnaire, call our Insurance Consumer Hotline.
If you want individual help understanding all of your options, call our hotline and ask to speak with a SHIBA counselor in your area.

Insurance Consumer Hotline: 1-800-562-6900
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