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How to Save on Your 
Health Care 

Medicare Savings Programs (MSPs) pay your Medicare premiums if you have a limited  
income. Premiums are what you pay each month for Medicare.  

Medicare Savings Programs 

Qualified Medicare Beneficiary 
(QMB):  

Pays for Medicare Part A ($407) and B ($104.90)  
premiums, deductibles, and coinsurances or copays. If 
you have QMB, you will have no coinsurance or  
copayment for Medicare-covered services you get from 
providers who participate in Medicare or Medicaid or 
are in your Medicare Advantage Plan’s network.  

Specified Low-income Medicare 
Beneficiary (SLMB):  

Pays for monthly Part B premium.  

Qualifying Individual (QI) Program  Pays for monthly Part B premium.  

 
 

MSP Enrollment and Extra Help Enrollment  

Your local State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) can determine your eligibility 
and help you enroll. 
 

 
 

MSPs and Extra Help  

Extra Help is a federal program that can pay some of the costs of your drugs when you have 
the Medicare drug benefit (Part D). It is also sometimes referred to as the Low-Income Subsidy 
(LIS). You automatically get Extra Help if your MSP application is approved. Your local State 
Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) can also enroll you in Extra Help. If you specify 
on your Extra Help application that you want to have your information transferred to your state, 
that application should also be considered as an MSP application by your state. 
 
 

What to know when you are eligible for a MSP 

 MSP enrollment eliminates any penalties for late enrollment into Medicare Part B 

 Even if you only have Medicare Part A, you can still apply for a MSP 

 The MSP will allow you to enroll in Part B even when it is not the General Enrollment Pe-

riod (January 1 to March 31 every year) 

 You should apply even if your income and assets seem to be above the limit. Some in-

come and assets may not count toward the limit 

 If you feel your application for a MSP is wrongly denied, ask for a fair hearing to appeal 

the decision. Instructions for requesting a fair hearing will be on your denial notice.    

http://www.medicareinteractive.org
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Medicare Savings Programs 

 
To qualify for Medicare Savings Programs, you must meet your state’s income and asset 
guidelines. Listed below are the baseline federal income and asset limits for a MSP. Most 
states use these limits, but some states have more generous income and/or asset  
guidelines. For example, Alaska, Connecticut, the District of Columbia (DC), Hawaii and 
Maine have higher income limits. Alabama, Arizona, Connecticut, Delaware, DC, Maine,  
Mississippi, New York and Vermont do not apply asset limits.   
 

 

Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB):  
Monthly Income Limits: (100% Federal Poverty Level or FPL + $20) 
Most States:                 $1,001 – Individual       $1,348 – Couple  
Asset Limits:                 $7,280 – Individual     $10,930 – Couple  
 
 

Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB):  
Monthly Income Limits: (120% FPL + $20)   
Most States:                  $1,197 – Individual     $1,613 – Couple  
Asset Limits:                  $7,280 – Individual     $10,930 – Couple  
 
 

Qualifying Individual (QI):  
Monthly Income Limits: (135% FPL + $20) 
Most States:                  $1,345 – Individual      $1,813 – Couple  
Asset Limits:                  $7,280 – Individual     $10,930 – Couple  
 
Income limits, which are based on the FPL, generally increase each year. New limits take 
effect on January 1 and are released in January or February. The amounts listed above  
include a standard $20 income disregard. Your state may disregard other income as well. 
Double-check with your state for current income guidelines and to find out which income will 
and will not be counted.  
 
Financial resources or assets cannot include your primary home or your primary car. Other 
types of assets may not count. Your SHIP can tell you the exact eligibility rules in your state.  

MSP Eligibility Standards  

http://www.medicareinteractive.org
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Even if your income (money you take in, for example, Social Security payments that you   
receive, or wages that your earn) or assets (resources such as checking accounts, stocks 
and some property) are higher than the guidelines in your state, you should  still apply. This 
is because certain kinds of income and assets may not be counted. Under federal law, states 
cannot count certain kinds of income and assets.   

 
 
Some examples of income that will never be counted are: 
 The first $20 of your monthly income 

 The first $65 of monthly wages 

 One-half of your monthly wages (after the $65 is deducted) 

 Food stamps 

Note: Some states exclude more of your monthly income than the examples listed above. 
 
 
In all states, the following assets will never be counted: 
 Your primary house 

 Your car 

 Household goods and wedding/engagement rings 

 Burial spaces 

 Burials funds for you and your spouse valued up to $1,500 each 

 Life insurance with a cash value of less than $1,500 

 

MSP Income and Asset Disregards  

 
 

Local SHIP Contact Information  

SHIP toll-free: 

SHIP email: 

SHIP website: 

To find a SHIP in another state: call 877-839-2675 or visit www.shiptacenter.org 

http://www.medicareinteractive.org
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Extra Help Program   
Income and Asset 

Limits 2015 

And your income
 
is... Then you get…  Your 2015 copays 

are…  
You are enrolled in... 

Up to $981 ($1,328 for 
couples) per month in 
2015

 

 

Full Extra Help 
$0 premium and  
deductible  

$1.20 generic copay 
$3.60 brand-name  

copay  
No copay after 
$4,700.00 in total drug 
costs  

Medicaid  

Above $981 ($1,328 for 
couples) per month in 
2015 

Full Extra Help 
$0 premium and  
deductible 

$2.65 generic copay  
$6.60 brand-name   
copay  
No copay after 
$4,700.00 in total drug 
costs  

Medicaid and/or the 
Medicare Savings  
Program 

Note: Income and asset limits on this chart are rounded to the nearest whole dollar. There’s also a 
$20 income disregard (not factored into the income limits above) that the Social Security  
Administration automatically subtracts from your monthly unearned income. Income limits are based 
on the Federal Poverty Level (FPL), which is subject to change every year.  

If you have Medicare and Medicaid and/or a Medicare Savings Program 

And your income
 
is... And your assets are…  Then you can get…  Your 2015 copays 

are…  

Up to $1,324 ($1,792 
for couples) per month 
in 2015 

Up to $8,780 ($13,930 
for couples) in 2015 

Full Extra Help 
$0 premium and  
deductible 

$2.65 generic copay  
$6.60 brand-name copay 
No copay after 
$4,700.00 in total drug 
costs  

Below $1,471 ($1,991 
for couples) per month 
in 2015 
 

And  
 
your income and/or 
assets are above Full 
Extra Help limits  

 
 

Up to $13,640 
($27,250 for couples) in 
2015

 

 
And  
 
your income and/or  
assets are above Full  
Extra Help limits  

 
 

Partial Extra Help 
Premium depends on 
your income, $66  
deductible, or the plan’s 
standard deductible, 
whichever is cheaper 

15% coinsurance or the 
plan’s copay, whichever 
is less 
After $4,700.00 in total 
drug costs, you pay 
$2.65/generic and $6.60 
brand-name or 5% of the 
drug cost, whichever is 
greater  

If you have Medicare only 
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