CODE REVISER USE ONLY

STATE CANASHING

RULE-MAKING ORDER PERMANENT RULE ONLY

CR-103P (October 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.360)

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FILED

DATE: December 01, 2021 TIME: 9:26 AM

WSR 21-24-101

Agency: Office of the Insurance Commissioner

Effective date of rule:

Permanent Rules

- □ 31 days after filing.
- Other (specify) January 1st, 2022 (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be stated below)

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? □ Yes □ No If Yes, explain:

Purpose: The current state law on out of state title records storage requires title insurance companies and agents, who are conducting business of an escrow agent, to keep adequate records of all transactions, and these records must be maintained in Washington, unless otherwise approved by the Commissioner (RCW 48.29.190(1)(a)).

Rulemaking is required to outline the process for title insurance companies and agents to request approval under RCW 48.29.190(1)(a) and detail the requirements for title insurance companies and agents to store title records outside of Washington.

Citation of rules affected by this order:

New: Repealed: Amended: WAC 284-29-160

Suspended:

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 48.02.060(3)(a), RCW 48.29.005, and RCW 48.29.190(1)(a).

Other authority:

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making)

Adopted under notice filed as <u>WSR 21-21-102</u> on 10/19/21 (date). Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: None

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by contacting:

Name: Tabba Alam Address: PO Box 40260, Olympia, WA 98504-0260 Phone: 360-725-7170 Fax: 360-586-3109 TTY: Email: rulescoordinator@oic.wa.gov Web site: www.insurance.wa.gov Other:

Note: If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. No descriptive text.						
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. A section may be counted in more than one category.						
The number of sections adopted in order to comply	y with:					
Federal statute:	New	/	Amended		Repealed	
Federal rules or standards:	New	/	Amended		Repealed	
Recently enacted state statutes:	New	I	Amended	<u> 1</u>	Repealed	
The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity:						
	New	/	Amended		Repealed	
The number of sections adopted on the agency's own initiative:						
	New	/	Amended		Repealed	
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures:						
	New	/	Amended		Repealed	
The number of sections adopted using:						
Negotiated rule making:	New	I	Amended		Repealed	
Pilot rule making:	New	/	Amended		Repealed	
Other alternative rule making:	New	/	Amended	<u>1</u>	Repealed	
Date Adopted: December 1 st 2021		Signature:				
Name: Mike Kreidler		l	Mile.	Krid	le	
Title: Insurance Commissioner						

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 09-20-070, filed 10/5/09, effective 11/5/09)

WAC 284-29-160 Recordkeeping. (1) A title insurance agent must keep and maintain complete and accurate records of the names and business addresses of those persons who have had a financial interest in the title insurance agent who are reasonably known or reasonably believed by the title insurance agent to be producers.

(2) A title insurance agent must keep and maintain records of its title orders sufficient to identify the source of the title orders.

(3) The records required by WAC 284-29-100 through 284-29-160 must be kept by the title insurance agent for a period of three years after the end of the year being reported upon.

(4) All records of a title insurance agent kept pursuant to WAC 284-29-100 through 284-29-160 must be available to the commissioner or the commissioner's representative during regular business hours.

(5) Title insurance companies and agents shall store these records in this state, unless otherwise approved by the commissioner in accordance with RCW 48.29.190.

(a) Title insurance companies and agents must request approval from the commissioner prior to storing their records outside of the state. Requests shall be emailed to prodcomp@oic.wa.gov.

(b) The commissioner will review and consider approval of the out-of-state title records storage if the records are readily accessible, securely stored, and maintained by the required statutory terms.

(c) If the title insurance company or agent plans to change the approved location of the out-of-state record storage, notification to the commissioner is required and reapproval must be granted prior to the change.

(d) Out-of-state record storage must comply with the security and data breach reporting requirements in WAC 284-04-625.