All entities acting as a pharmacy benefit manager (PBM) in Washington state under RCW Chapter 19.340 (leg.wa.gov) must register with the Office of the Insurance Commissioner (OIC).
Please be aware that effective 1/1/2022, all existing pharmacy benefit managers will need to register as a health care benefit manager in order to continue providing services in the state of Washington. Information regarding the new health care benefit manager law my be found here.
How to register
All PBM applicants must register through the OIC's online registration portal.
When you register, login instructions and credentials for filing information and making payments will be provided to your primary contact person. You may need to complete additional required information using our online filing and payment portal.
Completing your registration payment
PBMs will be charged a $200 registration fee. You can pay through the filing and payment portal.
Once your registration is approved, you will be notified by email to your primary contact person.
How to report your gross income
Your PBM gross income generated in the state of Washington is due March 1 of each year. To report your annual gross income, please login to the filing and payment portal and select Submit Filing. The gross income for your report will be used to calculate the annual renewal fee due in July.
Renewing your registration
Existing PBM's will not be billed renewal fees for July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2022 because they will be required to register as a health care benefit manager to continue operating in Washington.
In late June 2021, you will be sent an email notice advising you that your new health care benefit manager registration fee of $200 is due. You can pay through the filing and payment portal.
Once your payment has been processed, you will be notified via email to your primary contact person and provided with a link to begin the registration process to become registered as a health care benefit manager.