January 29, 2015
OLYMPIA, Wash. – Washington Insurance Commissioner Mike Kreidler and the Washington State Patrol urge Seahawks fans and all Washington drivers to be extra careful on Super Bowl Sunday, Feb. 1.
Mixing too much booze and driving can really wallop your wallet.
According to Nerd Wallet, the cost of a driving under the influence (DUI) ticket in Washington state ranges from $6,500 to more than $10,000, including fines, attorney’s fees, ignition interlock fees and insurance rate increases. Auto insurance may increase from $500 to $1,000 per year after a DUI conviction.
In 2014, the Washington State Patrol made 102 arrests statewide for DUI. Washington state DUI fines range from $940 to $5,000. In addition, the state Department of Licensing may require you to file proof of financial responsibility, also called SR-22. Read more about options for people who have trouble finding auto insurance.
The Washington State Patrol points out that the Seahawks had a plan for getting to the Super Bowl. You need a plan for getting home.
“We find that people sometimes get involved in the game and don’t realize how much they’ve had to drink,” said WSP Deputy Chief Curt Hattell. “It’s best to arrange for a sober ride home well before game time, whether that’s a designated driver, taxi or public transit. And go Hawks!”
Hattell reminds drivers that they can be arrested any time a trooper determines they are impaired, even if their blood-alcohol level is below .08 percent. This graphic from Mothers Against Drunk Driving shows the physical effects of blood alcohol at levels well below .08 percent.
“Be smart, be safe and don’t drink before you drive,” said Kreidler. “Go Hawks!”
Options for getting to and from Super Bowl events (and can save you from higher insurance costs):
- Designate a driver before the party starts. Make it part of the Super Bowl festivities by calling heads or tails when they do the coin toss on TV.
- Use one of many commute and travel choices around the state, courtesy of the Washington State Department of Transportation.
- Call a cab.
- If you use a ride-sharing app, first check with your insurance agent to find out if you are covered in the event of a collision. Find insurance companies, agents and brokers on OIC’s website.
- Ask a sober friend or relative for a ride.
- Make arrangements to stay overnight.
WSP media contact: PIO Robert Calkins (360) 596-4013