April 14, 2017
OLYMPIA, Wash. – Insurance Commissioner Mike Kreidler took disciplinary action and issued fines totaling $3,650 against insurance companies, agents and a continuing education provider who violated state insurance regulations.
Janet Pack, Tacoma; fined $1,500, order 15-0180
Pack sold an annuity to a consumer that was not suitable for the consumer’s needs, a violation of state law.
Mario Thomas Mathews, Tacoma; license revoked, order 16-0215
The insurance commissioner revoked Mathews’ insurance producer license in August 2016 for processing 32 fraudulent insurance policy endorsements, making false statements regarding 200 cars for which he lacked an insurable interest, and fraudulently adding 99 drivers under the age of 25 to policies and 98 additional residences occupied to policies. The total amount of these transactions was more than $129,000, which he paid on his credit card and then reversed. The insurance agency where he worked terminated his affiliation in January 2016.
Mathews appealed the revocation and demanded a hearing. The presiding officer upheld the order to revoke Mathews’ license.
Mutual of Enumclaw Insurance Co., Lake Oswego, Ore.; fined $1,000, order 17-0021
The insurance commissioner received consumer complaints about the company’s timeliness in handling claims. The commissioner reviewed the company’s claim-handling processes and found 10 violations of the following laws:
- Notifying claimants within 15 business days whether claims had been accepted or denied.
- Notifying claimants in writing when additional time was needed to process claims.
- Notifying claimaints every 30 days why the claims remained unresolved.
Lynn Christofferson, Rathdrum, Idaho; fined $400, order 17-0015
Christofferson is a registered insurance continuing education provider. During an audit, the insurance commissioner found that Christofferson violated some rules about continuing education recordkeeping.
Western United Life Assurance Co., Spokane; fined $500, order 17-0222
The company issued single-premium individual annuities with an interest rate that the insurance commissioner did not approve.
Jamie D. Allen, Gig Harbor; fined $250, order 17-0035
Allen failed to disclose her criminal history on two separate producer license applications.
Aaron J. Rodriguez, Seattle; issued probationary license, order 17-0043
Rodriguez disclosed on his insurance producer application that he was charged with a felony, and the charge will be dropped if he completes a two-year probation. Rodriguez can apply for a nonprobationary producer license once the charge has been dismissed.
About the Office
Kreidler’s office oversees Washington’s insurance industry to ensure that companies, agents and brokers follow state laws. Since 2001, Kreidler's office has assessed $22 million in fines, which are deposited in the state's general fund to pay for other state services.
The Office of the Insurance Commissioner posts disciplinary orders against companies, agents and brokers. Consumers can also look up complaints against insurance companies.
For an insurance question or complaint, contact the Insurance Commissioner’s consumer advocates online or by phone at 800-562-6900.
# # #