July 22, 2014
OLYMPIA, Wash. – Insurance Commissioner Mike Kreidler issued fines totaling $4,100 against insurance companies, agents and brokers who violated state insurance regulations during June 2014.
The names of the insurance producers are linked to the disciplinary order that contains more information about each action.
Insurance education provider
Paul Davis Restoration, Inc., Jacksonville, Fla.; fined $1,100
The Office of the Insurance Commissioner (OIC) conducted an audit and found the firm failed to keep records for three years as required by state rules. The firm also submitted course rosters and granted certificates to insurance producers who did not attend classes and offered a class after the course approval had expired, meaning attendees would not get credit for the class. The firm agreed to pay a fine of $1,100 and comply with state laws and rules.
Agents and brokers
Thomas T. Davis, Bothell; fined $500
Davis purchased dinner for a client who had recently bought an annuity. State law does not allow insurance producers to give gifts to clients that exceed $25 per year. Davis agreed to pay the fine and comply with state laws and rules.
Trisa Ann Jackson, Gig Harbor; fined $2,000, probationary license
OIC received four complaints about Jackson using coercive sales tactics and not fully explaining the insurance products she was selling. Jackson disputed those claims and in the interim has sold at least 146 policies with no complaints from consumers to the OIC. Jackson’s insurance producer license is now on probationary status for two years. During her probation, she will work with a mentor and complete 10 hours of continuing education ethics courses. Her fine is suspended as long as she follows the terms of her probationary license and doesn’t violate state laws or rules.
Jeanette L. Mix, Charlotte, NC; fined $500
Mix didn’t disclose to OIC a previous conviction when she applied for and renewed her Washington state insurance license. OIC attempted to contact her, but she did not respond, so the agency revoked her license in April 2014. Mix has since sought to reinstate her license; she agreed to pay the fine and comply with state laws and rules.
Luis DeSantiago, McFarland, Wisc.; license revoked
DeSantiago was issued a probationary insurance producer license in December 2013. Because of a deferred criminal sentence and outstanding court debt, DeSantiago was required to report to OIC quarterly his payments toward his court debt. He failed to do so in the first quarter of 2014 and he didn’t respond to several attempts by OIC to obtain that information from him.
Jaime Sue Joyner, Mukilteo; license revoked
Joyner was a State Farm insurance agent at the Sean Joyner insurance agency, which her husband operated. She was investigated by State Farm and OIC for fraudulently signing insurance applications and writing life insurance policies without the consumers’ knowledge or consent and for submitting oral swab tests on behalf of consumers without their knowledge using her own tissue samples. State Farm canceled Joyner’s appointment in August 2009 and Joyner let her insurance license expire in March 2011.
Kreidler’s office oversees Washington’s insurance industry to ensure that companies, agents and brokers follow state laws. Since 2001, Kreidler's office has assessed more than $18 million in fines, which are deposited in the state's general fund to pay for other state services.
For an insurance question or complaint, please contact the OIC’s consumer advocates at 1-800-562-6900 or online.