For Consumers

Clark County foster mom, daughter charged in $400,000 insurance theft

Contact Public Affairs: 360-725-7055

March 14, 2019

OLYMPIA, Wash. – Darcy Nicole Brioso and Delta Lynn Jackson were charged in Clark County Superior Court in connection with an insurance fraud investigation by Insurance Commissioner Mike Kreidler’s Criminal Investigations Unit (CIU).

Darcy Nicole Brioso, courtesy WA DOL

Brioso, 44, was charged with first-degree theft and first-degree identify theft. Jackson, 24, was charged with first-degree theft. Both women previously lived in Clark County and are co-defendants in the case, charged by the state Attorney General’s Office. Brioso is Jackson’s foster mother. 

According to the investigation, Brioso and Jackson collected more than $400,000 from AFLAC by filing multiple fraudulent claims from 2012 until 2015. The claims involved fake medical bills for injuries, surgeries, hospital stays and medical treatments. The bills listed medical providers in Washington state, Idaho, Oregon and Montana. Many of the alleged bogus injuries also involved subsequent short-term disability claims. 

Delta Jackson, courtesy WA DOL

Some of the fraudulent claims included: 

More than $91,000 in medical bills for Brioso for an ankle fracture after an ATV accident, pneumonia diagnosis, broken bones from a car accident and short-term disability claims. 

Nearly $34,000 in medical bills for Jackson for broken bones sustained in a car accident, a liver cyst and short-term disability claims. 

Nearly $20,000 in medical bills and short-term disability claims on behalf of Brioso’s former employee and roommate for a broken hip sustained in a car accident.

Brioso and Jackson are scheduled to appear in Clark County Superior Court on March 26. 

Kreidler’s CIU investigates insurance fraud and works with the Washington State Patrol and state and local prosecutors on criminal cases. Insurance fraud costs the average family $400 to $700 per year in increased premiums. Insurance companies are required by law to report fraud to the commissioner.  

Consumers can report suspected insurance fraud on the insurance commissioner’s website.