"I am grateful beyond words that you have assisted me in this resolution…Thank you."
Who needs it/why should I buy it?
Washington state's mandatory auto insurance law
Washington state law requires all drivers to carry auto liability insurance and proof that they have insurance.
The law (www.apps.leg.wa.gov) requires anyone who drives a motor vehicle in our state to do one of the following:
- Carry liability insurance - you must have liability limits of at least:
$25,000 for injuries or death to another person
$50,000 for injuries or death to all other people
$10,000 for damage to another person's property
- Pay a deposit to the Washington State Treasurer (PDF, 3MB) (www.tre.wa.gov)
- Have a liability bond of at least $60,000
The mandatory auto insurance law (www.apps.leg.wa.gov) is under the authority of the Washington State Department of Licensing (www.dol.wa.gov).
Showing proof of insurance
- If you're stopped by a law enforcement officer, you must show proof that you have auto insurance. If you don't have proof, he or she will give you a ticket (traffic violation).
- Your proof-of-insurance card shows that either you or your vehicle are covered by liability insurance.
- Your company sends you a proof-of-insurance card when you start or renew your auto policy.
Exceptions to the law
This law does not apply to the following vehicles:
- Motorcycles (www.apps.leg.wa.gov)
- Motor scooters (www.apps.leg.wa.gov) and mopeds (www.apps.leg.wa.gov)
- Specially licensed "horseless carriage vehicles" (www.apps.leg.wa.gov) (also known as antique or collector vehicles) >
- Police or government-owned vehicles (www.apps.leg.wa.gov)
Remember, you're still responsible for any damages or injuries that result from using these vehicles.